About Us

Shri Sanjay Bhatia

Shri Vidyasagar Murlidhar Kanade, Lokayukta, Maharashtra State

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vidyasagar Murlidhar Kanade was born on 22nd June, 1955. Started practicing in the High Court, Bombay in June, 1979. Appeared in High Court, Bombay in Civil, Criminal & Constitutional cases. Worked as Assistant Government Pleader from 1988 to 1990 in Writ Cell, High Court. Panel Counsel for Union of India from 1986 to 1989. 'A' Panel Counsel for State of Maharashtra from 1992 to 2000. Also was a part time lecturer in New Law College, Mumbai and visiting Professor, Department of Law, University of Mumbai.

Justice V. M. Kanade was elevated as High Court Judge on 12th October 2001. He was an Executive Chairman of the Maharashtra State Legal Services Authority, Mumbai and a Chairman of the Main Mediation Committee, Bombay High Court; Committee, monitoring functioning of the Juvenile Justice Boards in the State of Maharashtra; Governing Council, Government Law College and a Director of Maharashtra Judicial Academy.

He has worked as Acting Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court from 2nd December 2015 to 9th December 2015 and from 15th January 2016 to 20th January 2016. As a Judge of the Bombay High Court, delivered more than 34,000 judgments. More than 1200 judgments are reported in Law Reports. He was on the panel of Arbitrators prepared by Hon’ble Bombay High Court and also on the Panel of IMC International ADR Centre (IIAC), Mumbai, India.

He was appointed as an Administrator of the Maharashtra Cricket Association from 11th March 2018 to 15th September 2018.

He was invited to participate and give presentation in various International Seminars held in Bangkok and Phuket in Thailand in the year 2014 and 2015; at Singapore organized on behalf of Common Wealth Countries in 2014 and also at Hong Kong in 2016 on Commercial Laws and Litigations. He has attended several National Seminars in Mumbai, Delhi, Madras, Jaipur, Kochin and Chandīgarh etc.

Before joining as Lokayukta, he was appointed as an Arbitrator in 30 matters, referred by Hon’ble Bombay High Court and the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India.

He was appointed as Lokayukta of Maharashtra State on 19th August, 2021.

Shri Sanjay Bhatia

Shri Sanjay Bhatia, Upa Lokayukta, Maharashtra State

Hon’ble Mr. Sanjay Bhatia is a Mechanical Engineer and an MBA from Southern Cross University, Australia. He was a Maharashtra Cadre IAS Officer of 1985 Batch in the rank of Chief Secretary of the State and Secretary in Government of India. He has 35 years of experience in serving at various senior levels in Government of India and Government of Maharashtra. He superannuated as Chairman, Mumbai Port Trust and Chairman, Indian Ports Association in July 2020.

He has held a number of other important portfolios like Vice Chairman & Managing Director, CIDCO (Development of New Towns, Airport, METRO); Commissioner, Sales Tax, Maharashtra; Managing Director, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company; Secretary, Maharashtra State Electricity Board; Additional Director General, YASHADA; Director, Heavy Industries, Government of India; Collector, Gadchiroli; Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad, Solapur and Prant Officer, Karveer, District Kolhapur etc. and has brought transparency reforms in Management and HR Development in all these organisations with the help of meditation techniques. He has been awarded a number of awards such as ‘Ananya’ Award for Fighting against Corruption, E-Governance Awards, Rajiv Gandhi Gatiman Prashashan Award, Maha Shilpkar Award, Bloomberg Award and Traveller Today’s Award for contribution to the development of Cruise Tourism in India.

He is a Practitioner of Heartfulness Meditation and has been practicing meditation for the last twenty years.

He was appointed as Upa-Lokayukta of Maharashtra State on 28th August, 2020.


Information about our Institution

The Lokayukta is an independent statutory functionary (i) to investigate and make recommendation to redress and rectify any injustice done to a person through maladministration and (ii) to investigate and make recommendations in complaints of allegations involving abuse of position and corruption against public servant. The functions, powers and jurisdiction of Lokayukta and Upa-Lokayukta are laid down in the Maharashtra Lokayukta and Upa-Lokayuktas Act, 1971. The Lokayukta organisation is totally free from executive influence or interference. It functions as a Watch-dog.

It is the common experience that the citizens often face difficulties like undue delay, discrimination, corruption etc. in dealing with the Government agencies and they are required to run from pillar to post to redress their grievances. This institution takes care of a complaint / letter sent on plain paper / post card, if it fulfil a necessary information to initiate the action against the wrong doer. This institution help them to secure quick and inexpensive relief / justice.

In institution of Lokayukta, investigation is conducted confidentially, no court has any right to compel the Lokayukta or any public servant to give evidence relating to such information or to produce the evidence so recorded or collected. On complaint filed by the complainant, if after investigation and hearing, Lokayukta or Upa-Lokayukta is satisfied that the allegations are true, he then communicates the findings and recommendations to the competent authority for action within stipulated time for compliance. In case of inaction on his recommendation, Lokayukta or Upa-Lokayukta, as the case may be, submits the special report to the Governor. The Lokayukta submits annually a consolidated report on the performance of his office to the Governor to be laid before such House of the State Legislature with explanatory memorandum.

Importantly, this institution also takes suo-motu cognizance of the issues / causes of public interest so as to pick up the grievances of people with the objective of en masse improvement of a system and has been successful to bring change to some extent and striving to make the system better.

The Maharashtra Lokayukta Institution came into being from 25th October, 1972 and has been successful in redressing the grievances in about 60-70% of the complaints.



1 Justice S. P. Kotval 25/10/1972 to 24/10/1977
2 Justice A. R. Shimpi 02/01/1978 to 25/01/1979
3 Justice N. D. Kamat 06/09/1979 to 05/09/1984
4 Justice V. S. Deshpande 27/09/1984 to 26/09/1989
5 Justice P. S. Shah 26/10/1989 to 25/10/1994
6 Justice H. H. Kantharia 27/10/1994 to 30/11/1998
7 Justice V. P. Tipnis 01/01/1999 to 31/12/2003
8 Justice G. D. Patil 27/01/2004 to 26/01/2009
9 Justice P. B. Gaikwad 02/07/2009 to 01/07/2014
10 Justice M. L. Tahaliyani 24/08/2015 to 23/08/2020
11 Justice V. M. Kanade 19/08/2021


1 Shri L. M. Nadkarni 01/10/1973 to 30/09/1978
2 Shri S. V. Bhave 16/11/1978 to 15/11/1983
3 Shri S. P. Mohoni 16/11/1983 to 15/11/1988
4 Shri K. Sivaramakrishnan 04/02/1989 to 03/02/1994
5 Shri N. Jayaraman 28/02/1994 to 27/02/1999
6 Shri R. C. Iyer 08/03/1999 to 07/03/2004
7 Shri Suresh Kumar 14/06/2004 to 13/06/2009
8 Shri Johny Joseph 01/12/2009 to 30/11/2014
9 Dr. S. K. Sharma 05/12/2015 to 04/12/2020
10 Shri Dattatraya Padsalgikar 08/03/2019 to 01/11/2019
11 Shri Sanjay Bhatia 28/08/2020
© This is the official website of Lokayukta Maharashtra, India. All Rights Reserved.